No, this isn’t going to be an idiot exposition on metaphysical foolishness.

However, I thought you might like to know a little about me. I noted on a previous post that the existence of God has been proven in my lifetime. You may figure out that the concept of the universe as it truly is, the current concept of its enormity, was ‘born’ around the year I was born. I’ve been around for a while. Here’s a brief history of me:

My B S. [Geology major, Phi Beta Kappa] was from the U of Washington, 1956. You can’t beat geology as a foundation for the previous posts. I see much ado given to the lack of homogeneity in the initial universe; essential for the formation of galaxies, etc. If you had studied dendritic stream patterns, you’d understand. [True, it didn’t hurt to be guided through the process by J. Hoover Mackin.]

Speaking of Dr. Mackin, it was he who first tutored me on the relationship between the Big Bang and the proof of God’s existence. It was at the close of a lecture. At that time, of course, Science held that the universe was eternal, immutable and unchanging. No creation. The lecture had just covered a portion of the text where that was reiterated. Dr. Mackin, his sly humor peeking out, said: ‘We all know the universe is eternal, immutable, etc. But there’s this Big Bang theory. It’s not accepted by science. We should all be aware, however, that if it ever is, the existence of God will have been proven by science.’

That long ago lecture led to this blog.

In my senior year at the U of W, I committed to the ministry. [The denomination into which I was born, and still belonged to at that time, was the Disciples of Christ – normally called the ‘Christian’ churches such as ‘First Christian Church of Seattle’.] After graduation, since I was a ROT Corp person, I went to summer camp, received my commission in the U. S Army, Artillery, AAAGM [Guided Missiles]. During my stay at Ft. Bliss [11/1956 – 11/58] after completing OBC, I was assigned to the teaching group. My primary area of instruction was the computer of the Nike Ajax Guided Missile. I really enjoyed teaching.

While in El Paso, as a pre-the [‘the’ as in theme] person, I became active in the El Paso First Christian church . While there, to make a long story short, I learned [by way of a tragedy] that my goals as a preacher were not attainable. I abandoned my commitment to preach although I was still committed to apply to Yale Divinity. While in the Army, my family had moved to L. A.; I joined them while waiting for Yale Divinity [where John Oliver Nelson taught] to reject my application. I got a job as a lab technician in an R&D lab; I was eventually to become in charge of that lab. I was in the consumer manufacturing industry.

[That lab was, as far as I know, the first statistical lab in industry in the U.S. — in the world, for all I know. That’s how I became expert in small sample size statistics.]

I moved into Quality Control [another short version of a long story]. Eventually, I wanted my own department. [Naively enough, I thought that would make me happy in industry.] In those days, to get your own department, either an MBA or an MS in Business was required. So I got my MS in Business. My thesis was: ‘The Requisite Functions of a Quality Control Department’. [My GPA: 4.0.] As planned, I got my own department. It didn’t make me happy. Upon the advice of a friend, I decided to apply to law school.

I did so. Although my actual grade point at the U of W was just over 3.5, because of grade inflation it was entered, for purposes of admission to law school, as 3.75. The LSAT was the big barrier to law school. In those days, it was scored on a scale where 500 was average, 550 was required to get into any law school, 600 to get in to ABA schools [such as Loyola], 650 would get you in to any law school, 800 was max. I believed, with my IQ, I should get a score of more than 750. I received a 787. Loyola [the best ABA school in So Cal with a night program – I still had a family to support] welcomed me.

That’s where I got my J. D. [top 10%, St. Thos. More]; attained when I was 40 years of age. After 30 years in practice, the last 20 as a litigation lawyer [I advanced to the Sr. Litigation chair before I began my own practice], I closed my practice last June and, as of 1/1/07, I am an inactive member of the
California bar.

I am now planning to resume a 20 year dream — build a boat [my design, patent pending]. [The prototype was launched in 1984 – another long story.]

That’s my story and the end of this planned portion of this blog. I may post other items in the future that I need to get off my chest.

What now? I hope that you’ll be evangelical. As I said before, I hope everybody who believes in God knows that they have won the bet. The existence of God can not be challenged by any reasonable, honest person.

Be good to yourself.

